New co-chairs elected at All-Party Parliamentary Group on British Jews

Conservative MP Oliver Dowden and Labour’s Wes Streeting have been elected as co-chairs of the All Party Parliamentary Group on British Jews, the organisation which aims to broaden and deepen connections between Parliament and the UK Jewish community.

Mr Dowden, MP for Hertsmere, said: “I am delighted to have been elected as co-chair of the APPG. It is important to make a positive case for the Jewish community in this country. I look forward to working on a cross-party basis to speak up for the vibrant UK Jewish community.

Mr Streeting, who represents Ilford North, said: “It’s a great privilege to represent a vibrant Jewish community in Ilford North and I’m really looking forward to championing our Jewish community nationally, working as the co-chair of the APPG on British Jews.”

Former chair Dr Matthew Offord resigned as chair to take up a new role as Parliamentary Private Secretary to George Eustice in the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

The secretariat of the APPG is provided by the Board.

Photo (left to right) APPG members Lord Alf Dubs, Matthew Offord MP, Baroness Sarah Ludford, Oliver Dowden MP,Tulip Siddiq MP, Jonathan Arkush, Wes Streeting MP and Ruth Smeeth MP

Keep Informed

Sign up for our weekly briefing, delivered to your inbox every Thursday, giving you up to date news on events and activists of the Board of Deputies of British Jews, as well as the activities of member organisations and partners. 
Subscribe to Community Briefing


The Board of Deputies relies on the generous support of the Jewish community through individual contributions and donations. Help us be the voice of the British Jewish community by donating today. All funds received go to our core charitable mission.